aplas 2013: APLAS 2013

December 9, 2013-December 11, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia

Call for Papers


The symposium is devoted to foundational and practical issues in programming languages and systems. Papers are solicited on topics such as

  • semantics, logics, foundational theory;
  • design of languages, type systems and foundational calculi;
  • domain-specific languages;
  • compilers, interpreters, abstract machines;
  • program derivation, synthesis and transformation;
  • program analysis, verification, model-checking;
  • logic, constraint, probabilistic and quantum programming;
  • software security;
  • concurrency and parallelism;
  • tools and environments for programming and implementation.

Topics are not limited to those discussed in previous symposiums. Papers identifying future directions of programming and those addressing the rapid changes of the underlying computing platforms are especially welcome. Demonstration of systems and tools in the scope of APLAS are welcome to the System and Tool presentations category. Authors concerned about the appropriateness of a topic are welcome to consult with program chair prior to submission.


We solicit submissions in two categories:

Regular research papers describing original scientific research results, including tool development and case studies. Regular research papers should not exceed 16 pages in the Springer LNCS format, including bibliography and figures. They should clearly identify what has been accomplished and why it is significant. Submissions will be judged on the basis of significance, relevance, correctness, originality, and clarity. In case of lack of space, proofs, experimental results, or any information supporting the technical results of the paper could be provided as an appendix or a link to a web page, but reviewers are not obliged to read them.

System and Tool presentations describing systems or tools that support theory, program construction, reasoning, or program execution in the scope of APLAS. System and Tool presentations are expected to be centered around a demonstration. The paper and the demonstration should identify the novelties of the tools and use motivating examples. System and Tool papers should not exceed 8 pages in the Springer LNCS format, including bibliography and figures. Submissions will be judged based on both the papers and the described systems or tools. It is highly desirable that the tools are available on the web.

Papers should be submitted electronically via the submission web page: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=aplas2013

Acceptable formats are PostScript or PDF. Submitted papers must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere. Papers must be written in English. The proceedings will be published as a volume in Springer’s LNCS series. Accepted papers must be presented at the conference. (While the general chair and the program chair cannot submit papers, other members of the program committee can.)


  • Abstract due: 10 June 2013 (Monday), 23:59 UTC
  • Submission due: 14 June 2013 (Friday), 23:59 UTC
  • Notification: 26 August 2013 (Monday)
  • Final paper due: 19 September 2013 (Thursday)
  • Conference: 9-11 December 2013 (Monday-Wednesday)


General chair:

  • Peter Schachte (University of Melbourne)

Program chair:

  • Chung-chieh Shan (Indiana University)

Program committee:

  • Filippo Bonchi (CNRS, ENS-Lyon, France)
  • Yu-Fang Chen (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Shigeru Chiba (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Jacques Garrigue (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Robert Glück (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • R. Govindarajan (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Kazuhiro Inaba (Google, Inc., Japan)
  • Jie-Hong Roland Jiang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Shin-ya Katsumata (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Gabriele Keller (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Ana Milanova (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Keisuke Nakano (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan)
  • Hakjoo Oh (Seoul National University, Korea)
  • Bruno C. d. S. Oliveira (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Kaushik Rajan (Microsoft Research, India)
  • Max Schäfer (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Ulrich Schöpp (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
  • Paula Severi (University of Leicester, UK)
  • Gang Tan (Lehigh University, USA)
  • Hiroshi Unno (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Meng Wang (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Jingling Xue (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology, Sydney, Australia)
  • Kenny Q. Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)