cans 2014: 13rd International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security 2014

October 22, 2014-October 24, 2014 in Heraklion, Crete, Greece

Call for Papers

[Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this message]

Deadline extended Abstract submission: June 17, 2014 – 23:59 UTC-11. Paper submission: June 20, 2014 – 23:59 UTC-11. *****


13th International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security (CANS 2014) Aldemar Royal Mare Resort, Heraklion Crete, Greece – 22-24 October 2014 ******************************************************************************

The International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security (CANS) is a recognized annual conference, focusing on all aspects of cryptology and network security, attracting cutting-edge results from world-renowned scientists in the area. Proceedings of CANS are published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series of Springer. They are distributed at the conference and are included in all major online databases.

The 13th edition of the conference will be held in Heraklion, Crete (Greece), organised by the Institute of Computer Science of the Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH-ICS). Earlier editions of CANS were held in Taipei (2001), San Francisco (2002), Miami (2003), Xiamen (2005), Suzhou (2006), Singapore (2007), Hong Kong (2008), Kanazawa (2009), Kuala Lumpur (2010), Sanya (2011), Darmstadt (2012) and Parary (2013). CANS 2014 is held in cooperation with the International Association of Cryptologic Research (IACR).

OVERVIEW Papers offering novel research contributions are solicited for submission to the 13rd International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security (CANS-2014). The focus is on original, high quality, unpublished research and implementation experiences. We encourage submissions of papers suggesting novel paradigms, original directions, or non-traditional perspectives.

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are submitted in parallel to a journal or a conference with formally published proceedings.

TOPICS OF INTEREST - Access Control for Networks - Anonymity & Pseudonymity - Attacks & Malicious Code - Authentication, Identification - Block & Stream Ciphers - Cloud Security Security Modeling - Cryptographic Algorithms - Cryptographic Protocols - Denial of Service Protection - Embedded Platform Security - Hash Functions - Identity & Trust Management - (Future) Internet Security - Key Management - Mobile Code Security - Multicast Security - Network Security - Peer-to-Peer Security - Public Key Cryptography - Security Architectures - Security in Location Services - Security in Social Networks - Sensor Network Security - Spam & SPIT Protection - Spyware Analysis and Detection - Virtual Private Networks - Wireless and Mobile Security

INSTRUCTIONS FOR AUTHORS The submission should be at most 12 pages, excluding the bibliography and appendices, and at most 16 pages in total. Submitted papers should be intelligible and self-contained without appendices. Papers must be submitted only electronically. The electronic submission site is available at:

Submissions must be anonymous (no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, obvious references). At least one author of every accepted paper must register to the conference by the early registration deadline indicated by the organizers. Authors have to present their own paper. Papers without a registered author will be removed from the proceedings.

Accepted papers will be published in Springer’s Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and will be available at the conference. Papers should follow the formatting instructions of the Springer LNCS Style (, at the time of submission.

IMPORTANT DATES Extended Deadline for Abstract Submission: June 17, 2014 – 23:59 UTC-11 Extended Deadline for Full Submission: June 20, 2014 – 23:59 UTC-11 Notification to authors: July 25, 2014 Camera-ready version: August 10, 2014


PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS D. Gritzalis, AUEB, GR A. Kiayias, University of Athens, GR

PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS I. Agudo, Univ. of Malaga, ES G. Ateniese, La Sapienza Univ., IT M. Burmester, Florida State University, US D. Catalano, Univ. of Catania, IT G. Danezis, Microsoft Research, UK E. Dawson, Univ. of Queensland, AU S. De Capitani di Vimercati, Univ. degli Studi di Milano, IT I. Dinur, ENS, FR R. Di Pietro, Roma Tre Univ., IT S. Foresti, Univ. degli Studi di Milano, IT J. Garcia-Alfaro, TELECOM SudParis, FR D. Gollmann, TU Hamburg, DE S. Jajodia, George Mason University, US S. Jarecki, UC Irivine, US V. Katos, Univ. of Thrace, GR P. Kotzanikolaou, Univ. of Piraeus, GR H. Lipmaa, Univ. of Tartu, EE J. Lopez, Univ. of Malaga, ES E. Markatos, Univ. of Crete, GR A. O’Neil, Georgetown University, US K. Paterson, RH - Univ. of London, UK S. Pearson, HP Laboratories, UK R. Peralta, NIST, US C. Rechberger, DTU, DK K. Ren, Univ. at Buffalo, US P. Rizomiliotis, Univ. of the Aegean, GR A.-R. Sadeghi, Univ. of Darmstadt, DE R. Safavi-Naini, Univ. of Calgary, CA P. Samarati, Univ. degli Studi di Milano, IT N. Saxena, Univ. of Alabama, US G. Spanoudakis, City Univ. London, UK I. Stamatiou, Univ. of Patras, GR F.-X. Standaert, Univ. of Louvain, BE W. Susilo, Univ. of Wollongong, AU K. Takashima, Mitsubishi Electric, JP M. Theoharidou, AUEB, GR N. Triandopoulos, EMC RSA Labs, USA H. Wang, NTU, SG M. Yung, Google, US M. Yu, VCU, US H.-Z. Zhou, VCU, US V. Zikas, UCLA, US

STEERING COMMITTEE Y. Desmedt, Univ. of Texas (Dallas), US J. A. Garay, Yahoo! Labs, US Y. Mu, Univ. of Wollongong, AU D. Pointcheval, CNRS & ENS Paris, FR H. Wang, Nanyang Tech. University, SG

PUBLICITY CHAIR S. Foresti, Univ. degli Studi di Milano, IT

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE OFFICERS N. Petroulakis, Local Organizing Committee Chair T. Bitzou, Publicity Chair

This call for papers and additional information about the conference can be found at