haskell 2013: Haskell 2013

September 23, 2013-September 24, 2013 in Boston, MA, USA

Call for Papers

The ACM SIGPLAN Haskell Symposium 2013 will be colocated with the 2013 International Conference on Functional Programming (ICFP) in Boston, MA, USA. This year, the symposium will last 2 days rather than 1 as in the past. Thanks to broader participation from a growing community, we will be able to include more regular papers as well as system demonstrations and a new category of panel discussions, while upholding the scientific quality of the symposium.

The Haskell Symposium seeks to present original research on Haskell, to discuss practical experience and future development of the language, as well as to promote other forms of denotative programming. Topics of interest include

  • Language Design, with a focus on possible extensions and modifications of Haskell as well as critical discussions of the status quo;

  • Theory, such as formal semantics of the present language or future extensions, type systems, effects, metatheory, and foundations for program analysis and transformation;

  • Implementations, including program analysis and transformation, static and dynamic compilation for sequential, parallel, and distributed architectures, memory management, as well as foreign function and component interfaces;

  • Tools, such as profilers, tracers, debuggers, preprocessors, and testing tools;

  • Applications, to scientific and symbolic computing, databases, multimedia, telecommunication, the web, and so forth;

  • Functional Pearls, being elegant and instructive programming examples;

  • Experience Reports, to document general practice and experience in education, industry, or other contexts.

Papers in the latter three categories need not necessarily report original research results. They may report instead, for example, reusable programming idioms, elegant ways to approach a problem, or practical experience that will be useful to other users, implementors, or researchers. (Links with more advice appear on the symposium web page.) The key criterion for such a paper is that it makes a contribution from which other Haskellers can benefit. It is not enough simply to describe a program!

Regular papers should explain their research contributions in both general and technical terms, identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and relating it to previous work (also for other languages where appropriate).

In addition, we solicit proposals for

  • System Demonstrations (no longer than a regular paper talk), based on running (perhaps prototype) software rather than necessarily on novel research results.

  • Panel Discussions (no shorter than a regular paper talk), submitted by a moderator who proposes to bring together specific panelists who have agreed to address a specific pressing issue in the Haskell community. Panels will subsume past “Future of Haskell” discussions.

These proposals should summarize the system capabilities that would be demonstrated or the panelist positions that would be discussed. The proposals should explain (and will be judged on) whether the ensuing session is likely to be important and interesting to the Haskell community at large, whether on grounds academic or industrial, theoretical or practical, technical or social. Please contact the program chair with any questions about the relevance of a proposal.

Travel Support:

Student attendees with accepted papers can apply for a SIGPLAN PAC grant to help cover travel expenses. PAC also offers other support, such as for child-care expenses during the meeting or for travel costs for companions of SIGPLAN members with physical disabilities, as well as for travel from locations outside of North America and Europe. For details on the PAC programme, see its web page (http://www.sigplan.org/PAC.htm).


ACM Press will publish formal proceedings. Accepted papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library. Authors must grant ACM publication rights upon acceptance (http://authors.acm.org). Authors are encouraged to publish auxiliary material with their paper (source code, test data, etc.); they retain copyright of auxiliary material.

Accepted demo and panel proposals will be posted on the symposium web page, but not formally published in the proceedings.

Submission Details:

  • Abstract submission: Wed 12th June 2013, anywhere on earth
  • Paper submission : Fri 14th June 2013, anywhere on earth
  • Demo submission : Fri 14th June 2013, anywhere on earth (prior abstract submission unnecessary)
  • Panel submission : Fri 28th June 2013, anywhere on earth (prior abstract submission unnecessary)
  • Author notification: Thu 11th July 2013
  • Final papers due : Thu 25th July 2013

Submitted papers should be in portable document format (PDF), formatted using the ACM SIGPLAN style guidelines (http://www.acm.org/sigs/sigplan/authorInformation.htm). The text should be in a 9-point font in two columns. The length is restricted to 12 pages, except for “Experience Report” papers, which are restricted to 6 pages. Papers need not fill the page limit – for example, a Functional Pearl may be much shorter than 12 pages. Each paper submission must adhere to SIGPLAN’s republication policy, as explained on the web.

Demo and panel proposals are limited to 2-page abstracts, in the same ACM format as papers.

“Functional Pearls”, “Experience Reports”, “Demo Proposals”, and “Panel Proposals” should be marked as such with those words in the title at time of submission.

The paper submission deadline and length limitations are firm. There will be no extensions, and papers violating the length limitations will be summarily rejected.

Submission is via EasyChair: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=haskell2013

Programme Committee:

  • Andreas Abel, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Lennart Augustsson, Standard Chartered Bank
  • Jean-Philippe Bernardy, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Olaf Chitil, University of Kent
  • Neil Ghani, University of Strathclyde
  • Hans-Wolfgang Loidl, Heriot-Watt University
  • Ian Lynagh, Well-Typed LLP
  • David Mazières, Stanford University
  • Akimasa Morihata, Tohoku University
  • Takayuki Muranushi, Kyoto University
  • Keiko Nakata, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Alberto Pardo, Universidad de la República
  • Norman Ramsey, Tufts University
  • Neil Sculthorpe, University of Kansas
  • Chung-chieh Shan (chair), Indiana University
  • Christina Unger, Universität Bielefeld
  • Dana N. Xu, INRIA