STM 2013: 9th International Workshop on Security and Trust Management 2013

September 9, 2013-September 13, 2013 in Egham, U.K.

Call for Papers


*** Deadline extended to June 25, 2013 ***

9th International Workshop on Security and Trust Management (STM 2013) in conjunction with ESORICS 2013

Egham, U.K. - September 09-13, 2013


STM (Security and Trust Management) is a working group of ERCIM (European Research Consortium in Informatics and Mathematics). STM 2013 is the ninth workshop in this series and will be held in Egham, UK, in conjunction with the 18th European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2013).


The workshop seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government in all topics related to the management and realization of security, trust and privacy in modern system architectures and application contexts, such as cloud computing, business process management, smart grids and social networks. This specifically, but non-exhaustively comprises:

  • Access and usage control
  • Accountability and audit
  • Anonymity
  • Applied cryptography
  • Authentication
  • Business process security and privacy
  • Complex systems security
  • Data and application security
  • Data protection
  • Data/system integrity
  • Digital rights management
  • Economics of security and privacy
  • E-services
  • Formal methods for security and trust
  • Identity management
  • Legal and ethical issues
  • Networked systems security
  • Operating systems security
  • Privacy
  • Trust assessment and negotiation
  • Trust in mobile code
  • Trust models
  • Trust management policies
  • Trust and reputation systems
  • Trusted platforms
  • Trustworthy systems and user devices
  • Web services security


  • Paper submission: June 25, 2013 [extended]
  • Notification of acceptance: July 16, 2013
  • Camera ready version: August 12, 2013


Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. All submissions should be appropriately anonymized (i.e., papers should not contain author names or affiliations, or obvious citations). Submissions should be at most 16 pages, including the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and should follow the LNCS style. Submissions are to be made to the submission web site Only pdf files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be registered and received by the aforementioned deadlines. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the workshop. Pre-proceedings will be made available at the workshop. As for previous STM events, post-proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.


  • Rafael Accorsi (University of Freiburg, Germany)
  • Silvio Ranise (Fundazione Bruno Kessler, Italy)


  • Giovanni Livraga (Universita’ degli Studi di Milano, Italy)


  • Benjamin Aziz, University of Portsmouth
  • Liqun Chen, Hewlett Packard Labs, U.K.
  • Mauro Conti, University of Padua
  • Jorge Cuellar, Siemens, Germany
  • Frédéric Cuppens, TELECOM Bretagne
  • Nora Cuppens-Boulahia, Telecom Bretagne
  • Roberto Di Pietro, Università di Roma Tre, Italy
  • Wenliang Du, Syracuse University
  • Isao Echizen, National Institute of Informatics
  • Carmen Fernández-Gago, University of Malaga
  • Sara Foresti, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
  • Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro, Telecom SudParis
  • Xinyi Huang, Fujian Normal University, China
  • Meiko Jensen, Independent Centre for Privacy and Data Protection Schleswig-Holstein
  • Jan Jürjens, TU Dortmund & Fraunhofer ISST
  • Dimitris Karagiannis, University of Vienna
  • Florian Kerschbaum, SAP Research
  • Doğan Kesdoğan, Universität Regensburg
  • Felix Klaedtke, ETH Zurich
  • Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh
  • Giovanni Livraga, Università degli Studi di Milano
  • Javier Lopez, University of Malaga
  • Fabio Martinelli, IIT-CNR
  • Raimundas Matulevicius, University of Tartu
  • Catherine Meadows, NRL
  • Charles Morisset, Newcastle University
  • Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA
  • Pierangela Samarati, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
  • George Spanoudakis, City University London, U.K.
  • Mark Strembeck, Vienna University of Economics and BA, Institute of Information Systems, New Media Lab
  • Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Mahesh Tripunitara, The University of Waterloo
  • Michael Waidner, Fraunhofer SIT
  • Nicola Zannone, Eindhoven University of Technology