WAPL 2017: 6th Workshop on Advances in Programming Languages 2017

September 3, 2017-September 6, 2017 in Prague, Czech Republic

Call for Papers

Original papers and implementation reports are invited in all areas of programming languages. Major topics of interest include but are not limited to the following:

  • Automata theory and applications
  • Compiling techniques
  • Context-oriented programming languages to specify dynamic adaptations
  • Domain-specific languages
  • Formal semantics and syntax
  • Generative and generic programming
  • Grammarware and grammar based systems
  • Knowledge engineering languages
  • Languages and tools for trustworthy computing
  • Language theory and applications
  • Language concepts, design and implementation
  • Markup languages (XML)
  • Metamodeling and modeling languages
  • Model-driven engineering languages and systems
  • Practical experiences with programming languages
  • Program analysis, optimization and verification
  • Program generation and transformation
  • Programming paradigms (aspect-oriented, functional, logic, object-oriented, etc.)
  • Programming tools and environments
  • Proof theory for programs
  • Specification languages
  • Type systems
  • Virtual machines and just-in-time compilation
  • Visual programming languages

BEST PAPER AWARD To celebrate WAPL’s 10 years old, the 1st edition was in 2007, a Best Paper award will be offered to distinguish a work of high quality presented in the workshop. Award comprises a certificate for the authors and will be announced during the conference dinner.

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS We are proud to announce that WAPL will share with the whole FedCSIS Conference two well known names in the area of Programming Language & Compilers as 2017 Keynote Speakers: * Marjan Mernik from University of Maribor (Slovenia) and University of Alabama at Birmingham (USA) and * Jan Vitek from the Programming Research Laboratory, CCIS at Northeastern University, Boston (USA)


  • Authors should submit draft papers (as Postscript, PDF or MSWord file).
  • The total length of a paper should not exceed 10 pages IEEE style (including tables, figures and references). IEEE style templates are available at https://fedcsis.org/2017/for_authors
  • Papers will be refereed and accepted on the basis of their scientific merit and relevance to the workshop.
  • Preprints containing accepted papers will be published on a USB memory stick provided to the FedCSIS participants.
  • Only papers presented at the conference will be published in Conference Proceedings and submitted for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore® database.
  • Conference proceedings will be published in a volume with ISBN, ISSN and DOI numbers and posted at the conference WWW site.
  • Conference proceedings will be indexed in BazEkon and submitted for indexation in: Thomson Reuters, Scopus, Inspec, Index Copernicus, DBLP, and Google Scholar
  • Extended versions of selected papers presented during the conference will be invited to COMLAN and ComSIS.
  • Organizers reserve right to move accepted papers between FedCSIS events.


May 10, 2017 - Submission of the full paper May 31, 2017 - Submission of position papers June 14, 2017 - Authors Notifications June 28, 2017 - Final Submissions and Registrations

PROGRAM COMMITTEE Pedro Rangel Henriques (Event Chair), Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Ankica Barišić, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Alda Lopes Gançarski, TELECOM SudParis, Evry, France.
Zoltán Horváth, Eotvos Lorand University, Hungary
Jan Janousek, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
Geylani Kardaş, Ege University International Computer Institute, Turkey
Heiko Kern, University of Leipzig, Germany
Ján Kollár, Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia
Tomaž Kosar, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Ivan Luković, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Federica Mandreoli, University of Modena, Italy
Pablo E. "Fidel" Martínez López, Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Argentina
Marjan Mernik, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Boris Milašinović, University of Zagreb Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, Croatia
Reed Milewicz, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
Hanspeter Moessenboeck, Johannes Kepler Universitat Linz, Austria
Rekha Pai, National Institute of Technology Calicut, India
Nikolaos Papaspyrou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Maria João Varanda Pereira, Instituto Politecnico de Braganca, Portugal
Jaroslav Porubän, Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia
João Saraiva, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
José Luis Sierra Rodríguez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Boštjan Slivnik, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Zdzislaw Splawski, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland
Bruce Watson, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Eric Van Wyk, University of Minnesota, USA