srds 2014: The 33rd IEEE Symposium on Reliable Distributed Systems 2014

October 6, 2014-October 9, 2014 in Nara, Japan

Call for Papers


33rd International Symposium on Reliable Distributed Systems, IEEE SRDS 2014 October 6 - 9, 2014. Nara, Japan

The Symposium on Reliable Distributed Systems is a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in distributed systems design, development and evaluation, particularly with emphasis on reliability, availability, safety, security, trust and real-time. We welcome original research papers as well as practical experience reports that deal with design, development and experimental results of operational systems.


Abstract submission: April 7, 2014 (23:00 ETC) Full paper submission: April 13, 2014 (23:00 ETC; NO EXTENSIONS) Authors notification: June 27, 2014 Camera-ready: July 20, 2014 Conference: October 6-9, 2014


Areas of interest include, but are not limited to: * Autonomic, pervasive and ubiquitous computing * Cloud computing and virtualization: X-as-a-Service * Dependability of distributed databases and transaction processing * Dependability of distributed multimedia systems * Dependable communication networks, QoS control and assessment * Dependable cooperative mobile systems (ad hoc networks, sensor networks, robot networks, …) * Distributed algorithms * Distributed objects and middleware systems * Experimental or analytical evaluations of dependable distributed systems * Fault-tolerance, reliability, availability in distributed systems * Formal methods and foundations for dependable distributed computing * High-assurance and safety-critical distributed system design and evaluation * Internet-based systems and applications * Parallel and distributed operating systems * Privacy-assuring large scale data management systems * Resilience of distributed infrastructures (intelligent transport, smart grids, vehicular networks, …) * Secure and trusted distributed systems


The symposium will highlight the best paper. All papers accepted for presentation at the symposium will be evaluated by the Best Paper Award Co-Chairs for the award.


Please see the submission page for information. Accepted papers will appear in the symposium proceedings, which will be published by the IEEE Computer Society. IMPORTANT: There will be no deadline extension!


Workshops will be held in conjunction with SRDS 2014 on October 6, 2014. Workshop topics will be announced on the symposium website.


Technical Sponsors IEEE Computer Society (pending) DBSJ The Database Society of Japan

Corporate Sponsors Recruit Technologies Co., Ltd. [Platinum sponsor]


Symposium Chair: Takahiro Hara, Osaka University, Japan

Program Chairs: Xavier Defago, JAIST, Japan D. Manivannan, University of Kentucky, USA Antonio Casimiro, Univ. of Lisboa, Portugal

Finance Chairs: Tomoki Yoshihisa, Osaka University, Japan Susumu Ishihara, Shizuoka University, Japan

Local Arrangement Committee: Akimitsu Kanzaki, Osaka University, Japan (Chair) Haruhiko Kaneko, Tokyo Inst. of Tech., Japan Yutaka Arakawa, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Publication Chair: Nobuyasu Kanekawa, Hitachi, Ltd., Japan

Registration Chair Masaki Bandai, Sophia University, Japan

Award Committee Chairs: Takashi Nanya, Canon Inc., Japan Michel Raynal, IRISA, France

Workshops Chair: Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya, Osaka University, Japan Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

PhD Forum Chair: Jun Miyazaki, NAIST, Japan Raman Adaikkalavan, Indiana University South Bend, USA

Publicity Chairs: Masumi Shirakawa, Osaka University, Japan Sanjay Madria, Missouri University S&T, USA

Advisory Committee Chair: Masaru Kitsuregawa, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan

Advisory Committee Members: Tohru Kikuno, Osaka Gakuin University, Japan Hiroyuki Kitagawa, Tsukuba University, Japan Yasushi Kiyoki, Keio University, Japan Takashi Nanya, Canon Inc., Japan Shojiro Nishio, Osaka University, Japan

Executive Committee Chair: Haruo Yokota, Tokyo Inst. of Tech., Japan

Steering Committee Liaison: Andrea Bondavalli, University of Florence, Italy

Technical Program Committee: Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University, USA Sara Bouchenak, University of Grenoble 1, France Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China Miguel Correia, IST/INESC-ID, Portugal Domenico Cotroneo, University of Naples Federico Secondo, Italy Bojan Cukic, West Virginia University, USA Patrick Eugster, Purdue University, USA Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland Christof Fetzer, Technical University of Dresden, Germany Arobinda Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India Naohiro Hayashibara, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan Matti Hiltunen, AT&T Labs Research, USA Chunming Hu, Beihang University, China Yennun Huang, Academia Sinica, Taiwan Chalermek Intanagonwiwat, Cisco, USA Mizuho Iwaihara, Waseda University, Japan Taisuke Izumi, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan Joerg Kaiser, University of Magdeburg, Germany Johan Karlsson, Chalmers University, Sweden Betina Kemme, McGill University, Canada Hiroaki Kikuchi, Meiji University, Japan Philip Koopman, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Ajay Kshemkalyani, University of Illinois Chicago, USA Sandeep Kulkarni, Michigan State University, USA Leszek Lilien, Western Michigan University, USA Michael R. Lyu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China Raimundo Macedo, Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil Sanjay Madria, Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA Istvan Majzik, Budapest Univ. of Technology and Economics, Hungary Luca Mottola, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Marta Patino, Technical University of Madrid, Spain Fernando Pedone, University of Lugano, Switzerland Jose Pereira, University of Minho, Portugal Ravi Prakash, University of Texas Dallas, USA Francesco Quaglia, Universite di Roma ``La Sapienza'', Italy Peter Scheuermann, Northwestern University, USA Andre Schiper, EPFL, Switzerland Hans-Peter Schwefel, FTW, Austria Francois Taiani, University of Rennes 1 / IRISA, France Sebastien Tixeuil, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6, France Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya, Osaka University, Japan S. Felix Wu, University of California Davis, USA Haruo Yokota, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan